2012 MAGDAS/ISWI School on Space Science in Ciloto, Indonesia

Clint Bennett and Dr. Quirino Sugon Jr., faculty members of the Department of Physics of Ateneo de Manila University, attended the 2012 ISWI and MAGDAS School on Space Science in Ciloto, Indonesia last 17-26 September 2012. ISWI stands for the International Space Weather Initiative of UN:

The International Space Weather Initiative (ISWI) is a programme of international cooperation to advance the space weather science by a combination of instrument deployment, analysis and interpretation of space weather data from the deployed instruments in conjunction with space data, and communicate the results to the public and students. ISWI is a follow-up activity to the successful International Heliophysical Year 2007 (IHY 2007), but focusing exclusively on space weather.

MAGDAS, on the other hand, stands for the Magnetic Data Acquisition System.  The MAGDAS network consists of more than 70 magnetometer stations around the world for the study of magnetic field fluctuations of the lithosphere, ionosphere, and magnetosphere.  The Primary Investigator of the MAGDAS project is Prof. Kiyohumi Yumoto of the International Center for Space Weather Science and Education (ICSWSE), Kyushu University.  The Philippine MAGDAS Network consists of 6 stations located in Tuguegarao (TGG), Muntinlupa (MUT), Legazpi (LGZ), Cebu (CEB), Cagayan de Oro (CDO), and Davao (DAV).  Representatives from the Philippine stations also joined the ISWI and MAGDAS school:

1. Audy Quebral, Cagayan State University, Tuguegarao (TGG)
2. Clint Dominic Bennett, Ateneo de Manila University
3. Jackie Lou Liban-Zinampan, Cagayan State University (TGG)
4. Ian Jasper Daep Mangampo, Divine Word College of Legazpi (LGZ)
5. Renante Violanda, University of San Carlos, Cebu City (CEB)
6. Meldy Grace Mantala Comandante, Xavier University (CDO)
7. Joseph Basconcillo, SN Aboitiz Power Group
8. Dr. Quirino M. Sugon Jr., Ateneo de Manila University and Manila Observatory (ICSWSE Subcenter)

Read more: Interview with Clint Bennett by the Ateneo Physics News.